Med Anthro Blog opening

Do I know where I was conceived? No, my parents were the type who told us “you know when you were conceived, we were in…” not at all like the mothers and fathers in some movies from the United States. There will be at time for everything, even for discovering that fact. When I see Jesus, I believe, he will reveal all the answers, irrespective of how many questions we have asked or are yet to ask. Then we will make love, but I will not conceive.

My mother did tell me that she nearly lost me after my conception. No she did not have a spontaneous miscarriage – that happened to the boy that came before me, the brother I never knew. Instead, she went to the doctor at her local clinic in Borovo, Sofia, Bulgaria. He told her “ Imash izvan matuchna, trqbva da se operirash I da maxneme embryona”. “ You have an extra-uterine pregnancy (in the fallopinan tubes), we have to operate you and remove the embryo.” My mother did not accept that as an answer, so she went for a second opinion, at “Treta Gradska hospital” where I was later born. Here the late doctor Novachkov, of whom she recalls of fondly told her “Suvsem normalno bebe, da si zhiva I zdrava” “a completely normal baby, may you be healthy and happy (Bulgarian saying)”

So her treatment seeking behavior saved me from death. She told me that had they operated and found out everything was normal, they would have just said “zdrave da e” which is equivalent to saying “oh well, no big deal”.

This is therefore a blog about medical anthropology, because it seems that my very existence is tied to issues of treatment seeking, which are grounded in anthropological terms: cultural constructions; social structures; agency and the rest. Therefore, I cannot make it seem strange that I am starting this blog – it is part of who I am and my inclination towards medical anthropology is therefore no coincidence : it is my birthright.  

Here you will find pieces that I have conceived in my mind – I have no womb – using the fertilization of writings by different scholars in the field.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

