Why do I want to attend again?

Why do you want to attend the internal AIDS Society Conference?

I am enamoured by people. I feel an urgency to understand their affliction, especially when it comes to AIDS. I believe one day I will be a medical anthropologist so as to understand how people understand the processes of ailment and healing. The fruits of my amateur anthropology research are available on my blog: writinghealth.wordpress.com. But I need to know more – more about this increasingly chronic disease. I believe the IAS conference (like the HIV Society Conference in Namibia) will expose me to discoveries about HIV and ways of curtailing its negative effects inside the body and outside in society. In Namibia, there was only a dearth of public information about HIV as a chronic disease and the implications thereof. I tried to change that by publishing an op-ed article in a local newspaper. However, I still have to refine the way I communicate to the general public. I know the IAS conference can help me to bridge the biomedical and public discourses about HIV. I hope to build bridges with people from different disciplines, who speak different languages (I wield English, Spanish, Italian, French and

Bulgarian) and who want to reach people, just like I do.

 

The answer above is for a scholarship for an IAS conference. It came to me after I watched about 2/3 of the film “Absolutely Positive”. A documentary that is a collection of interviews with HIV positive people who contracted who recount their experiences as HIV positive people and how they grapple with it. The film is made very much in a documentary style and the narrator himself is an HIV positive gay man. Many of the people who speak are gay men. I the colors of the film, the voice over of the narrator, the music and the ancient computer he uses all indicate it was made in the late 1980s, early 90s. Twentieth Century. Peoples’ Century. It reminded me of the documentary made about the early 1990s work “Still/Here” made by Bill T Jones and how I jolted my eyes open the morning after I watched, and looked at the flashing red digital alarm clock in my dorm – I had remembered what one of the participants had said in that documentary “ One day I think all of my friends will die from AIDS and I will be the only one left” or something to that effect. Then I was absolutely positive I had to go into helping these people, knowing more about them and so I knew research was calling me! Thanks to my dance classes at Princeton (and my molecular biology of course – training in scientific research), it all came together. Now its coming together for my application. Well I know I am a people person, but I also love maths and reason, So I have to do more study of statistical programming

With that, comes the end of this post

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

