Sanitation

Access to proper sanitation is definately an issue for about every seventh person in the world.  A mere Google search will pull several statistics to attest to that (or should I say estimates – I think we can leave the statistically technically language out for now). Most of the time, people without access to flush toilets seem distant to me, in other countries, but then I discovered there are so many here in my city, Windhoek, and many more in the rural areas.

My grandmother lived to the age of 95 and she lived all most of it, if not all of it, with sporadic and infrequent access to flush toilets. When I last saw her in May, I was taken aback by the fact she could barely walk unassisted and therefore she was using the potty again. The only pit latrine in the homestead she lived was out and far, which made impractical for her to go there everytime she had to go.

Now during the funeral preparations, I envisioned the masses of mourners arriving for her memorial service with only one pit latrine at their disposal. Enter the idea of rental, mobile toilets. I called one company in the phone book who referred to me to another, calling from Windhoek to the coast, tracing the route of the mobile toilets in the hope of securing some for the funeral. Fortunately, I believe my cousin has a contact who can lease a pair to us per day.

Sanitation therefore is a serious issue and sooner or later we experience the deprivation ourselves.

 

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology and I part of the RC Church. I also completed a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town, in Epidemiology and Biostatistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sanitation

  1. The statistics is much higher, more like 4 in 7 (I know its a weird fraction, but its about 43%)

  2. Johannes says:

    Thank you for that article. It is really a shame that even today that many people in the developing world have to suffer from infectious diseases. To provide them with access with proper sanitation could be another cornerstone to improve their qualitiy of life.

Leave a Reply

