UCT second semester

The second semester at UCT, the Masters of Public Health program has is well underway! I now truly and deeply accept that I am here to do the Masters and that I belong here. I am very grateful to the German Academic Exchange and the Canon Collins Trust for funding this adventure. They have actually paid out!

In class today we went over public health and human rights. The course "Public Health and Human Rights" is fascinating, though rather complicated by the legal jargon. We spoke briefly about the responsibilities of governments to protect the human rights of their citizens and how this cannot be abdicated to any other body i.e. multinationals cannot be blamed for actions such as pollution (Ivory Coast) or sexual exploitation of the local population (Papua New Guinea). The governments ultimately have the responsibility.

The course will include a component called a reflective journal. I think this will be interesting for me, as it means I will have an excuse to blog now and again. I feel the material is rather legally dense, in terms of concepts, but perhaps I should just enjoy engaging with the material.

Over the past three days, I should mention, I have looked at another class – the economics of health systems. This has been really rewarding, as I am learning to grasp what PharmAccess has been doing in Namibia. I would actually prefer this course to the former.

I should not forget to mention though that I do not plan to take either of these courses this semester – or should I? The main reason for this to kick start my mini dissertation and focus on it so that I can complete it by next year June. And yet, I feel I should perhaps maximize what I can learn from the course work. From what I have learnt from Economics though, it is all about choices. I need to choose.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

