Mini dissertation choices.

Good afternoon,Today is a pretty warm day here in Cape Town. And it is also a very intersting day indeed. I want to find out now what exactly I think I should be doing for my mini-dissertation.
It so turns out there is a desire inside of me to reconcille my inclinations to do qualitative research with my fascination and penchant of statistics.
I wonder now whether I can do a statistical project or mini dissertation.

It turns out that I went to a talk back in May by Tim Shand on his work with the International Men and Gender Equality Survey (IMAGES). He reported back specifically on Malawi and it so turns out that his measure of depression among men who responded may not be valid, and the statistics to check for validity, by cross checking with another variable, may not be that complex. I wonder if I could even do this as my mini dissertation.
But here is the thing, I am also so interested in cervical cancer and the social epidemiology thereof.
Yet I have a gut feel that this IMAGES survey may be where I learn something exciting.

I don’t know, I guess this is what happens when you find yourself liking more than one discipline.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology and I part of the RC Church. I also completed a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town, in Epidemiology and Biostatistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

