Lunch with friends in the LGBT community

Often I have the image of a grand lunch, a long table, several pairs of people sitting at its side and with me at the helm. In reality, we had a round table in a small kitchen with three people. There was one lesbian student and one gay student and me, the gay organizer – also a student. Note how many times I have used the word gay, I did organize this under the auspices of Gay Students Researchers Practitioners’Supper. We were all together, the three of us, enjoying my homemade pizza (my grandmother’s Bulgarian pizza dough recipe) and the salad, with greens from our very own garden in the Obz square residence.

What did we talk about? All sorts of things, but we touched on eating and body image. My lesbian friend, who also happened to be on a low carb diet that day, loved the pizza. The crispness of the crust, she really enjoyed. This paragraph may not be that crisp and concise, but I also do not want to reveal too much about her, I do not know if she would mind me doing so. For her, dieting is a way to become more aware about choices that happen inside a shop.
My gay friend loved learning that vinegar could be make of wine, that pink lemonade actually does exist – he did not know about the sound of music – yet he is gay. Who says that Julie Andrews and the Sound of Music are cardinal, are part of the gay canon? That is only the case if one is exposed to all these things, and he grew up in a rural part of South Africa, where he mainly spoke his own mother tongue.

I think I would like to continue having these leisurely lunches, yes I do believe so. This will be my community service to the community, the UCT community and my LGBT community. Not a word about my research project in public health though – all well it will come.

This lunch was inspired by a dinner last night I had in Observatory. A man I know from the running club had me over at his place for supper and I had lunch with him and his partner. They are both such interesting gentlemen, full of life and a strong love for food, good company and conversation. They somehow remind me of my good American friends, African American lesbian friends, whom I met in Namibia. K and M, a couple I miss them very much.
Well, it is the season for leisurely lunches, is it not?

And that will be it, because I soon have to get back to studying, that is after 18:00. Yes I will observe the Sabbath today.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

