Cape Town pride 2015

Pride_Health_Sciences_Students_and_Academics

On the 26 of February, I put up a poster announcing and calling for all “Friends of Dorothy” in our Health Sciences Faculty to come together on Saturday morning for our trip to Pride. What I found especially cool was the fact my poster was stamped by the Postgrad Administrator, Audri.
I introduced myself as the postgrad person for Rainbow UCT and I showed her to poster. She looked at it and just told me “please remove it once your event is done” and then stamped it. Perhaps to her it was just another event, but for me her stamp was the seal of legitimacy, it was sanctioned, approved, not just tolerated. That means a lot for me. And there is one kid who even contacted me about the event already.

On the 28th of February, I walked in the Cape Town pride.  I walked the streets of Cape Town, from the Green Point traffic department around the city and it felt exhilarating to move in the space with other queer people! Though not everyone in the procession was queer, I know this for a fact since I met a student from Stellenbosch who I saw at Green point last year. He saw me practicing tai chi in the open green space with my friend Roeline and stopped to chat with us.

I made some new friends – the Cape Town bears. We chatted when they were setting up their large float – the decorated vehicle for the parade . See below – Daniel, his boyfriend and myself:

IMG-20150228-00155

I also had the opportunity to hold on to their flag. I met Daniel and Tony from the bears; they are both around my age, but while Daniel is single, I understood Tony to be available. And here is a question I ask myself – how difficult would it be for a student, who occupies a certain societal space, to go out with a non-student, Capetonian man who is part of the bear movement? If I aspire to go into academia, should it mean that I only date within other aspiring or current academics?  Were this the case, I think it would make for very limited opportunities to date, would it not.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

