Evening time

When evening time comes, then clarity floods my mind and clears what I often have to find ways of denying. I want to single out certain events in the day that made me fill fulfilled – the yoga I did with a fellow housemate, handing in my draft of the research protocol for the mathematical model and finally befriending a Colombian girl who introduced me to her other Colombian, Brazilian and Jordanian friends. It is this last event that I wish to refer to as bringing clarity to the mind.

I often do enjoy meeting people – in fact always. I love using my ability to connect with other human beings. In this case, it was the Spanish link that allowed me to befriend her and in so doing, let me into the house party she had just emerged from to check if her friends had arrived, which led me to hear he speak Spanish on phone on the street.

What do I then do about this feeling, this desire to know others. I wonder whether it means my studies need to go in the similar direction. I love statistics, trully I do, yet the dry 19th century language one uses in this field sometimes bores me. I wonder if I should not just take the course in qualitative data analysis next semester – as a complement to the great amount of mathematical modelling I will do.

It is something to ponder. As the opportunity cost would be a course on non-communicable disease and thus social epidemiology of these diseases, which fascinates me as well.

Now all I need to is sleep.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

