Reflections

Attending the opening dinner for the 2016 MPH cohort gave me the opportunity to reflect upon how far I have come. Indeed, I need a great deal of perseverance to identity a supervisor who researched HIV in gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men, but I am so glad I did. Tomorrow morning I will finish up the draft results I have for him.
I met some interesting in-coming students – one of whom will be work with Chris Colvin under the SASH initiative on a qualitative study involving HIV and MSM. I met one or two South Africa, two fins, two Americans. One of the Americans, a student from South Carolina, walked with me all the way to Baxter Theater. On the way, we spoke – I related my challenges these past two years, but I should also my strategies for success. Surrounding myself with people who inspire me, especially the LGBT student community has been wonderful.

I have an LGBT mailing list with post-graduatate students, post-docs and academics who fall under the umbrella term queer, regardless of their actual sexual orientation. I have now invited them to attend our opening – my closing – event for 2016 . A talk by Professor Michael Pepper on “Sex determination and gender diversity” on the 27th of January, here at the Wolfson Pavillion.
World Aids Day even Artscape
Speaking of talks, here is a photo of me shortly after World AIDS day 2015. A classmate of mine, Lance Louskietter, invited me to speak about my research at the Artscape Resource Center – the aim was to tell young people what we know about HIV in MSM in South Africa. He did the event as part of his youth network – the activators. What privilege this all has been! It is coming to a close.
I bid farewell to my classmate and friend Blake on Monday and today I welcomed in-coming students. Time is indeed a joke.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology and I part of the RC Church. I also completed a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town, in Epidemiology and Biostatistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

