Gratitude

I can say with gratitude that I am graduate student in public health, here at the University of Cape Town. Rankings aside, this University is ranked 48th in terms of health, this is a damn good place to be (and all of the places in the top 10 come from the global north). Today I was lucky to bump into professor Shebnem from Turkey. She was glad to see me and asked about what I was doing. I told her, about the model and HIV in men who have sex with other men. We had a discussion about structural modelling and the survey from Malawi – IMAGES. I have posted on this before – I would be curious to see if one could measure “homophobia” using several indicators. But then she reminded of the golden rule – go to the literature. Why would anyone want to measure homophobia? What would it help? I know internalized homophobia can be a proxy for willingness to partake in HIV prevention activities – fun and games for fairies – aimed at MSM, but what about external homophobia?

Ok, that is the post for tonight. My mom sent me a message telling me that she had no idea what I was still doing here, that I should come home as soon as possible. In true Bulgarian style she used the verb for soaking – to her I am just like a piece of cloth soaking in dirty dish water. Well maybe no quite. In any case, I am sure I am not the first grad student in history to hear this from their mother, neither will I be the last.

Good night

P.S. I reread this today 2nd of May 2016. I am glad to say my mom is very supportive. I think she just would like to have me with her, so she feels less alone. But she is really proud of me, especially since I am doing research fellowship as the last thing in this MPH degree, I think. I am very grateful, once again.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

