Practicum reflection

I was just eve’s dropping on the conversation one of the scholars (researchers) here at the organization where I am doing my MPH practicum was having “In a PhD program, in today’s market, if you don’t have any publications, your chances of getting a job are…” I forget what she said, but I believe you could fill in your choice of adjective: dim, poor, abysmal.
Now what I have to say to that as a student of public health is. Granted this is true. The way to deal with that pressure is to remember who you are doing this for. It’s ultimately for the people’s health. Not to necessarily Nobel Prizes (people in basic science and medicine take those usually). Maintain the focus on the people, because otherwise this place eats you alive.

In my practicum experience, I can relate to this. When I first got here, I had to rush through a submission to the TB2016 conference. There was little time for me to check everything or even engage with what I was doing. All that I thought of was securing the spot at the conference. While I will be going to TB 2016, I now have taken a step back and realized there are ways I could have better analyzed the data, ways that make more sense given the type of data I have.
I need to keep the focus.

The people.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

