Visit to a TB clinic, going to a talk, working on thesis, so much

As a research fellow so many things can happen in one day. In the morning, I work on my poster for TB conference. Then take a break to work on my AIDS poster. Attend a talk on social protection as a means to help teenagers stay on HIV medication. Leave the noon talk, go to a TB clinic in Gugulethu with my mentor. Listen to him discuss cases for about an hour. Come back, finish the results section of the TB paper. Work on the TB poster. Take a ride with another fellow, she is a scholar from the US, to Cape Town. Mull around the Michaelis Art Gallery, go back home on the last Jammie bus. Read for my mini dissertation over dinner and a small amount white wine. Did I mention I also wrote up my CV today! I have made the induction manual – practicum – a part of the process. The process to obtaining the MPH, the process leading up to the end of the practicum. I see one of the wonderful enablers for the transition from student to researcher is visiting the actual field site where my mentor introduced me as a student. Knowing I am still a student, but I am doing research, makes me feel easy. It means I can enjoy being a student still and push myself to learn from my mentors and professors.

About writinghealth

Wannabe Epidemiologist? Wannabe med anthro person? I guess. Christian, scientist (not Christian scientist), i mean like I studied molecular biology. I am doing a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

