#Platform9toParkStation

Dear Wimpie,I saw a most delightful – that is a most inappropriate choice of word for a play that had me in stitches this evening. What did I see – from Platfrom9 to Park Station. The tale is one of the Cape to JHB, infused with humour, mostly in Afrikaans. I understood a great part of it, but since it was so authentic, I missed most of the local, Afrikaans expressions. One thing I loved was how much homo-eroticism there was between the different male characters. I think they tried to statirise machoismo in Cape Town and they did a pretty good job.

On each stop between Cape Town and Park Station, the two protagonists, Theo and his friend met a motley of different characters. Yet they play all the parts – it was a two man show.

I now, am going to try and visualize my own thesis journey. Today I tried to do some result, but I did not go far. Tomorrow I begin my introduction. After mass in the morning.
Good night my dear friend and too bad you are going back to darkness.

About writinghealth

I completed a Masters of Public Health, at the University of Cape Town, in Epidemiology and Biostatistics, while I also relished my courses in health policy and planning, qualitative research and the political determinants of health. During that time, I completed a fellowship (6 months) in adolescent health at the Desmond Tutu HIV Foundation. I now write about health and do podcasting in Namibia regarding COVID-19. The photo is of myself and classmates from my MPH program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to #Platform9toParkStation

  1. Tim says:

    Well, in South Africa and most plays that are happening on the planks are Afrikaans, and sorry to hear that you struggling with the language.

    I can also see that you enjoyed it, and that counts without notice that you didn’t fully understand the whole Afrikaans play. Just pity I can’t or didn’t see it went off at the theater.

Leave a comment